Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have a negative impact on both individuals and society.

It is argued that the advent of social media platforms, mainly, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram, in the early 21st century have a devastating effect on the community and the individuals. I strongly agree with this argument due to several reasons that I will discuss in greater detail in my essay. Social networking sites hurt individuals, by supplanting more active forms of enjoyment with transitory and unhealthy self-esteem boosts. Prior to arise of social media, human beings tend to engage in active hobbies such as playing a sport, painting, or learning to play a musical instrument. Over time, those recreational activities improve not only physical well-being but also offer opportunities for relaxation and healthy personal growth. However, Individuals at present, are preoccupied due to excessive use of social network platforms to such a degree that they no longer gather for worthwhile social activities. one good illustration of this is the number of Facebook users is about to exceed 2 billion who are stuck in the loop just for temporary pleasure and validation. Just as social media has undoubtedly hurt individuals, it has taken its toll on society evident by lack of social interaction and community spirit. It a common refrain to hear older people complaining about how generations today are narcissists and glued to their phones in contrast to what people used to do a decade ago such as volunteering in community centers. There is an element of truth in this. online chatting groups are certainly not the same as real interaction with real human beings and don’t involve the same social skills. it is coming to a norm of modern society for people to be withdrawn and anonymous in the communities with poor judgments that they have less in common with their fellow members. Eventually, the society will become fragmented and more insular with deeply complex social, individual, and political consequences. In Conclusion, the rise of social network sites has hurt individuals and society greatly. In order to address this, people must use such online platforms more judiciously while maintaining better interaction with the real human being. (Words -347)