Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What other measures do you think might be effective?

People are more interested in private transportation nowadays. This is increasing the number of vehicles in the cities due to this pollution and traffic is also been growing. As a reason, people are thinking that high petrol costs will be the best solution to control these issues. As far as I am concerned, it is completely unacceptable. Understandably, there is a reason, for denying their decision. Primarily, most of the people cannot afford to high prices on petrol when there is any urgent issue because public transport will not be available in time to choose them. For example, if there is an emergency like any health problems like sudden fever then it will cause a major issue to the public. Secondly, there is no bus service to some areas, so people need to go either by auto or by their own vehicle which eventually increase their transportation charges to reach those places, for spending large amount on petrol. In contrast, there are few other methods to follow instead of rising petrol prices. Certainly, government can encourage people to use public transportation by lowering the transportation charges. Finally, government should bring awareness among people to use biodegradable fuels to control pollution. One of the Example is that, in some parts of the world people are using renewable resources like biofuel, methanol, ethanol which are made naturally. To conclude, government leaders can follow some particular methods to stop pollution without improving the petrol prices. As I mentioned above, adopting to renewable resources and decreasing charges on public transport would be helpful in controlling growing traffic.