These days everyone seems to have more possessions (e. g. computers, cars, mobile phones, etc. ). Our strong desire to own these things is making us less aware of important personal qualities such as kindness and concern for others.

Materialism has many drawbacks that affect the value of our community in contrast with our social contract. In the recent years, this behavior creates a nagging attitude towards our life style. Unfortunately, it is a race of obtaining, doesn’t matter where it comes from. People are becoming self-concerned rather than being generous and grateful towards each other. Living in the modern era, we have established many beliefs dictating that every human must be valued and appreciated in accordance to the amount of wealth he or she has. Media, so called as social representator, only projects rich celebrities. As a result of this attitude, most people destroy the social fabric and run after money. They forget their family-training, nature, social and moral values. Furthermore, in past family members were used to gather at evening to share their views, daily routine work and experiences. This type of meetup was a source of strong and warm connection amongst family members. Now-a-days people fly to some exotic island for outing or kill their time using mobile phones. Therefore, they lack real meetups, which is the key factor and bonding element that led people to love each other and maintain kind interrelations. Taking everything into consideration, I admit people today are surrounded with their items considering them as a sign of better status. But each of them is making himself isolated in their own circle and cut-off from society. I believe we should not replace real human qualities with stocks of things. These things can’t be the alternate of personal qualities such as kindness and concern for others.