Many people believe that social networking sites have had a negative impact on individuals and society.

The advent of social networking sites, mainly Facebook and Instagram, in the early decades of the 21st century have transformed the ways that people interact with their friends and community. I am in complete agreement that they have had a negative overall impact on both individuals and society. Social networking sites hurt individuals by replacing more active forms of enjoyment with transitory, unhealthy self-esteem boosts. In the past, people were more likely to take up an active hobby such as painting, playing a sport or learning a musical instrument. Over time those hobbies increase self-esteem, provide hours of enjoyment, and can be seen as active and healthy to varying degrees. Facebook and Instagram replace not only the time spent on worthwhile hobbies but users also get stuck in a feedback loop which gives them temporary bursts of dopamine in place of longer lasting feelings of accomplishment. Just as social media has undoubtedly hurt individuals, it has also taken its toll on society. It is a common refrain to hear older people complaining about how generations today are narcissists, glued to their phones. There is an element of truth in this. Social networking sites, coupled with smartphones, allow people to withdraw and be anonymous in public places. Over time people will come to feel they have less in common with their fellow man and society will become fragmented and more insular with deeply complex political, individual and social consequences. In conclusion, the rise of social networking platforms has hurt individuals and society greatly. In order to combat this, governments and parents should at least better regulate their availability to children and young teens.