Many people believe that money is a good gift for a teenagers while others disagree.

In the world of today, there has been an increasingly popular tendency that people give money for teenagers as they consider it as a reasonable present, while some are against this trend due to its possible drawbacks. From my perspective, I find the latter agreeable for several reasons. On the one hand, money may be a suitable gift for youngsters, thanks to some of its benefits. The first advantage worth mentioning is that money collected from gifts may play an indispensable role in some young students’ lives. In fact, in some cases, students whose families do not provide them with support on their education fee and daily expenses may take advantage of that money to release their financial burdens. Another benefit of this act is that according to some research, not only does early exposure to money help teenagers to understand better about the value of the money, it also helps them to start planning their financial budget, which is obviously beneficial their adult life in the near future. For instance, children who are allowed to get familiar with money during their early stage of life seem to have a better understanding and systematic thinking in doing businesses when they grow up, compared to those that are prohibited from touching money when they were young. On the other hand, there are undeniable drawbacks of giving money as a gift to youngsters. First of all, by giving money for them too easily, adults may spontaneously create an illusion that everyone can have a free access to material things, without spending any effort. Indeed, this will clearly have detrimental effects to their mind set and philosophy of life later on, breeding potential crimes and social evils. Secondly, young people are often curious and vulnerable. Without a strict control from parents, not only do they spend that amount of money into useless and unnecessary things advertised on means of media, but they may also use that in drug-trafficking. Last but not least, some young people have already thought that getting money as a gift should be their right, and kept asking for more. Although some families can afford it, some may find it out of the question and have to work exhaustedly or go stealing to satisfy their kids’ wants. In conclusion, even though there are some advantages of the trend in which people give money for teenagers as a present, I hold the belief that the trend still has some irrefutable demerits; therefore, it should be discontinued in the today’s society.