Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children.

Numerous people are under the notion that media coverage of famous people is having adverse ramifications on the younger audience. I completely agree with the above statement, because it is leading children to have unrealistic expectations of their lives, which in turn is causing them to get depressed due to not being able to replicate their idols. Media these days are portraying celebreties as almost non-human, from their lifestyles to their personal lives, everything is exaggerated and shown on several media platforms such as internet, televison and radio. For example, Amir Khan a famous indian actor promotes drinking soft drinks, which is not healthy for children to consume as it causes a host of health complications such as tooth decay and even diabetes. Children are naive and immature and blindly follow whatever is trending. Media should be responsible enough to take that into account and choose their audience wisley. Furthermore, children want to imitate their celebrities idols, they want to dress up like them and even want to become like them, which is causing them to lose their identities. Some children are also being thrown into the limelight, in the name of talent shows which is robbing these children of their innocence and childhood which is causing an adverse effect on their mental health and depriving them of a very important phase in their lives where they learn and connect with the world. For example, Michael Jackson who was robbed of his childhood as he was forced to perform at a young age, which in turn took its toll when he grew up causing depression and trauma. To conclude, it is our responsibility as parents and guardians to make sure our children do not have unrealistic expectations of their lives and grow up to be responsible and functional member of the society.