Many people believe that keeping young criminals in prison is the only way to stop them committing crime again. What are the advantages and disadvantages of keeping minor convicts behind bars?

Crime rate is increasing at an alarming rate around the globe and youth contribute to almost one-third of total crimes commited in any nation. It is often argued that juvenile convicts should be sent to prison so that they think twice before commiting any crime. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of such punishment given to youngsters. First and the foremost benefit of sentencing imprisonment to young offenders is that it would set an example for other teenagers. For instance, if any minor offender is sent to jail for performing any criminal activity, other kids in society would fear the justice system of country. Moreover, such penalty would not only act as deterrent to wrongdoers but also curb re-occurence of transgression. Being isolated from family and staying in small cell without any facilities might prove beneficial for realisation of mistake commited by youngster. On the other hand, hostile environment might cause adverse physological effects on the minds of adolescents like shock and depression. Furthermore, criminal convinction may ruin their career as it will be difficult to grab a job with criminal background. Under such circumstances they may develop negative behaviour and turn back to criminal world. On the contrary, a need may arise to increase the capacity of existing jails if both adult and juvenile are send behind bars. Consequently, it will increase the burden on national budget. In conclusion, although many opine that sending juvenile offenders to prison is the only way to halt re-occurence of law violation, the court should consider the merits and demerits before implementing such laws.