Many people believe that having fixed punishments for all crimes is a more efficient way to deal with crime. What is your opinion?

Crime rate has been increased over the last few years all over the globe. Having the insights of each and every case and the respective cause of the crimes has become more difficult for the judiciary system which is why many people hold the belief that fixed punishment might resolve this problem. Though this might fasten the process, but I’m of the opinion that this might not help with serving the justice right. First let’s look into the possible reasons why most people think that punishing all criminals same way is a more efficient way to deal with crime. Firstly, this will help judiciary system to expedite the process of dealing with hearings and ultimately making quick decisions. This will lead to not only save precious time of the court but also the collective efforts involved of the concerned parties. While this might speed up the whole process, this may lead to justice not served right. Since the nature of every crime is different from each other, this might create a sense of agony among criminals. For example, there might be petty crimes as insignificant as crossing the signal while it has not turned green. Sentencing a death punishment for such a small crime might not make sense. Likewise, there might be cases where accused ones have made an act in self defence. Severe punishment for such a crime would also not be fair in its true sense. All in all, I’m not in favor of fixed punishments for all crimes since this way justice is not served right. A serious criminal might get a low punishment, or a signal breaker might get a punishment as severe as 30 years of imprisonment which doesn’t make sense. While this may take some time for judiciary system to decide the punishment, making a right decision is more important than being unjust to the criminals.