Borrowing words from other language into english. Why and how the words borrowed express your opinion here.

Nowadays, we are using a lot of words that borrowed from other languages. And people using it unconsciously in their conversations. Obviously, that is not their mistake. They were using those word since they were young. Their partners taught and helped them to learn these word’s usage and definition. Of course parents learnt it from their parents. Actually, we don’t know when English borrowed these words from other language. Even though you are a native speaker it is very hard to guess the root of the word. Since you know there are plenty of words that borrowed from other language and enter English, now let’s focus on why and how: Before that, even though we are talking about words that enter English, I need to mention that according to my research from internet “English is the number-one donor of words to other languages in the world”. ¹ It shows not only English is borrowing words but also others too. Here is some factors that really influenced borrowing words. First of all, we must be aware of history of the world, especially European history. A historical actions like a World War II boosted the process of borrowing word. Likewise the conquest of England affected the spread of English. It shows cooperation during war or conquest is the one of greatest factors. The cooperation means they will share their knowledge and identity of their culture and language. It is how the war and conquest affects language. Secondly, how we can forget about geography effect in language. Just imagine how hard it is to name the thing that you never seen. And as well as you know it is much easier to borrow word from your neighboring country. Because the possibility of get in social communication with neighboring country’s citizen is higher than get in conversation with who is from other continent. It is why the geography is important. Thirdly, globalization boosts the process of borrowing word. Recently we are using gesture and terms like “OK”, “internet” and “Facebook”. I think the whole world understand these terms without translation. Now we know the greatest factors that affects the language, but we do not know how to notice them easily. It is very easy to guess the words that are borrowed. You just need to be aware of their pronunciation. For example: You will call “-ch” by “sh” when it is in the word that borrowed from French. Like Chicago. We call it “shuh-kaa-gow”. And Champagne. By noticing their pronunciation you can guess where the word is from? In other hand, you can guess their pronunciation by their origin. As well as you can use words definition and roots to guess the origin of word. Here is few examples of borrowed words and their origin: 1. Anonymous (Greek) 2. Safari (Arabic) 3. Cigar (Spanish ) 4. Cartoon (Italian ) In conclusion, the words are borrowed because of their usage and need in the other language by their own social members during the history of world. And of course it will not stop.