Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment

It is true that implementing common punishment for all crimes can be an effective way to protect the society. While this regulation has many benefits, there are also drawbacks which are worth considering. Having a fixed punishment will reduce the criminal’s intention to create crimes. It could aware the offenders that any kind of offense will be punished with a strong law, and deter them from criminal activities. For example, in Saudia Arabia, there have a law for burglar, is cut a hand of lawbreaker irrespective of items were stolen. In addition, this punishment system is easy to implementation and less time consuming for verdict. Hence, victims would not suffer for long judgment process. In this way, having a fixed punishment can divert the criminal from anti-social work and people enjoy a safe society. However, despite the above mentioned advantages for having a fixed retribution, it has a negative effect in a society. This situation is against the fair and egalitarian society. People will receive same punishment whether their crimes are major and minor, and they would lose the respect for laws. As a result, criminals could be encouraged to involve multitude crimes. A recent survey shows that in Bangladesh, 30% younger burglar become Hijacker in their adult age because they aware the punishment will be the same imprisonment for that crimes. Another down side is that teenage offenders will deprive from rehabilitation. They have to stay with same prison with other criminals and motivate to involve illegal activities. Thus, this could increase the social crime rates which are not desirable outcome for a country. In conclusion, it seems that the potential dangers of providing a similar punishment for all crimes in a society are more significant than the possible merits.