Many people believe that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement.

In today’s society, many people think that the traditional ‘pen and paper’ examination is no longer an effective way of estimating students’ knowledge. I believe that there are some other ways in which higher education can measure the academic abilities of the students. First of all, when students are preparing for pen and paper exams, they usually study two or three days beforehand. That is when they use a method of studying which is called rote learning, where they just memorize a large amount of information in a short time, and they would probably forget most of the parts after they pass their exam. Another problem with the ‘pen and paper’ exams is cheating. Academic dishonesty has always been a problem when it comes to ‘pen and paper’ exams. Some people claim that a better way of evaluating students’ academic abilities is by taking exams orally. Traditional exams cannot measure all abilities of the students. Not only knowledge but also the potential of the students, what he or she is capable of. Some students can learn the material and pass the exam, where they just need to tick the correct answer. However, in some cases, they cannot express their thoughts on the given topic. As a result, oral exams allow teachers to check students’ academic knowledge as well as their creativity. In conclusion, I would like to say that each student is different. For some of them, it might easier to pass a ‘pen and paper’ exam whereas, others can better express their knowledge verbally. It will be beneficial for everyone if higher education uses a variety of test formats to assess students.