Some people think that people in senior positions alone should make decisions in a business, while others think that employees should be involved in the decision-making process too. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that only the persons at higher ranks be involved in decision making in businesses, however, others argue that workers also need to be indulged in the same. This essay agrees with the first given notion because the top rank holders are more experienced, although indulgence of subordinates may bring a sense of responsibility in them. Firstly, the knowledge gained by the people at higher positions is crucial to run an organisation correctly. In other words, the consequences of any decision made by the company can be very well predicted and analysed by the experienced senior members. As a result, the profits and losses of the organisation can be handled effectively, only if the experts are involved in decision-making. For instance, a survey conducted in 2016 in India, it was revealed that 70% of the top positions in the MNCs are held by the most experienced entrepreneurs. On the other hand, if the employees working for a company are involved in making decisions, they can be motivated to work more efficiently. This is to say that involving workers in the important agreements of the business will bring a sense of responsibility in them. Furthermore, it will result in an increase in the progress of the company because most of the employees will be working harder for the success of their goal. To exemplify, according to research by the Scholars of the University of Shimla in 2010 in India, it was found that motivation alone can enhance the efficiency in workers by 50%. To conclude, it is true that people can be encouraged to work efficiently by making them a part of decision-making, however; it is the experience of the senior rank holders which is essential to run a business.