Many people believe that educational standards have declined in recent times, particularly in the areas of literacy and numeracy. Discuss the causes of this problem and offer possible solutions to it.

Although the government is keen to improve the quality of educational standards, there is a gradual decline in the value of literacy and numeracy studies. There is a variety of possible causes of this including the shortage of well-trained teachers and boring materials, whereas steps can definitely be taken to tackle the problem. Studying literacy and numeracy has not become desirable, it can be attributed to main reasons. Chief among the causes of this problem is the lack of highly qualified teachers in these disciplines. That is to say, there is a possibility that the decreasing in interest to teach these fields of studiesas a result of the dominating of other specialties such as computer and science. Another contributing factor is the tedious methods of teaching these areas. In other words, the outdated style of its curriculums has a greatinfluence instudents’ interest to study them. To illustrate, a recent survey of 1000 pupils, by the University of Singapore, which showed that children who learn the most oftheir coursesin traditional method are likely getsthe lower grades, and they hardly ever concern about their lessons. Some possible measures can be taken to resolve this spreading issue. Firstly, the government can offer training programs for math and literacy teachers. For instance, the official authority of education such as the educational management in each city can organizeobligatory courses for its teachers to improve their skills. Secondly, developing the teaching styles of these areas by depending on computer applications and interactive activities will probably attract students to spending most of their time studying. As a consequence, if all the above measures were taken, the troubles would be by no means insurmountable. In conclusion, decreasing proficiency of educators and outdated methods of teaching are affecting the educational criteria. Nevertheless, if governments organize training courses to improve teachers’ abilities and syllabus presentation methods, educational standards will likely increase in the areas of literacy and numeracy.