Many people believe that e-books will revolutionize the world of publishing as more and more individual self-publish, doing away with the need for an editor, publisher, printer or even a conventional bookshop. Do you think this will have a detrimental effect on the quality of books being published? What do you think publishers can do to keep their businesses going?

Ebooks are the newest concept that was introduced to us in recent years and they have brought about many irrefutable benefits to modern society. Thanks to it, many people started their career as individual publishers. However, some are concerned whether this will detrimentally affect the quality of the published books. In this essay, I will discuss this issue. To begin with, it’s obvious that the quality of the books may decrease. People can write books whenever they want and can publish them without hindrance. Unlike conventional books which need the approval of the publishers depending on their content whether it is appropriate for the reader age or if the content isn’t detrimental or not, for instance terrorist-related or violent genres are strictly banned throughout the world. Another factor that makes ebooks detrimental is that the books that are published via the Internet are likely to get stolen or get posted somewhere on the Internet without the consent of the author. Consequently, instead of the authors who profit off their books, it’s the owners of those publishing websites who gain all the profits. Although those flaws may seem to be inevitable, they still can be excluded. The most effective way of preventing the mentioned issues is that the publishers as well as the owner of those publishing websites should take responsibility for whatever they are posting to prevent illicit content from scattering all over the Internet. Moreover, ebooks authors should take copyright registration or publish their books on reputable websites that offer its publishers sustainable payment and privacy policy on their books. Furthermore, conventional publishers can also use these online platforms as a means to promote their books to everyone by providing samples as well as the cost so that the readers can have a better insight in the book. Overall, ebooks have brought readers more convenience, especially during this pandemic. Nevertheless, the publishers should take all the issues into consideration to sustain the merits of ebooks.