Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

Riding a bicycle is good for our health and it is an environment-friendly mode of transportation. However, it is still not popular in many countries. The following essay will discuss some of the reasons for this trend and several suggestions that could be implemented to encourage more people to use bicycles. In several countries, people do not use bicycles that much. Firstly because some people still believe that riding a bicycle is only a sporting or recreational activity and for commuting they need to ride on buses, trains or drive their own cars. Secondly, since some governments do not provide any bicycle lane for the cyclists; people find it risky to ride bicycles in the main streets. Without the existence of the separate bicycle lane, some people think that riding a bike to work would be dangerous as they have to share the road with car commuters and motorcyclists. There are several things that governments could do to persuade people to ride cycles. One of the solutions is by providing separate cycling lane for cyclists. By having a lot of bicycle lanes in the area, it is hoped that it will encourage the residents to ride bikes for their daily commuting. Another solution could be encouraging and informing people by making campaigns about the positive effects of bike riding to the societies. Lastly, the government should also lead by examples about bike riding. One of the examples is that the government could persuade their employees to ride bicycles on a daily basis. If government authorities ride cycles to offices, it is hoped that the public will also follow the example. In conclusion, bike riding is still not widely accepted in several countries. It is because the mindset of the people who believe that cycling is a just sport and cycling lanes are not available in their country. The governments should make some action plans to persuade their people to ride cycles.