Many people argue that exams are the best way to assess people’s competence and that no better system has yet been found. Others say they are unfair, unhelpful and out-of-date.

Nowadays, professors and teachers use many types of student knowledge testing. According to some people’s opinion examination system is the best way to rate capability of students and better method than examination has not been found yet. However some people argue that they are discriminatory, old-fashioned and worthless. In this essay I will discuss both sides and present my opinion. Obviously, taking exam helps to evaluate the real amount of knowledge, because by answering the questions, you will show your competence. In addition, exams create students’ lives less stressful because you can economise much time and to spend it on the useful things. For instance, instead of proving our understanding with projects and other works, we can just take the exam and save our time. On the other hand, other students are not sociable and for these people it is difficult to be concentrated at an exam. Moreover, many students believe that a student can be a victim of misunderstanding between student and teacher, which can make a worse mark. Therefore, students suggest several ideas. A good example is using homework and other written tasks as the evidence of student’s skill. They believe that it can increase understanding between teachers and students. In my opinion, both points of view should be respected, because, it is important to pay attention to problems of the students. The solutions to this problem are the improvement of opportunities for unsociable students to receive additional help from teachers. However, the majority of students believe that an exam is the best solution to this problem because there are much more benefits for students, such as economizing time and avoiding problematic works. In conclusion, exams are more suitable for the educational system because the disadvantages of exams can be avoided, also the benefits are obvious. The most important side is that a student becomes freer. I believe that the examination is the method, which is convenient for students as well as teacher.