Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh its disadvantages?

Over the past few decades, by virtue of highly-developed means of transport, there has an escalation of tourism around the world. This paradigm shift is often believed to have more merits than demerits. However, is this always the case? Does it really result in a better world for our human beings? Let's delve into the pros and cons of increased tourism. To commence with, it is mandatory to take into consideration the upsides of this tendency. Firstly, supporters of international tourism would argue that the more opportunities people have to travel, the broader knowledge and experience they acquire. That is to say, they no longer have to depend on books and movies to watch the world, instead now they can genuinely experience the magnificence of our planet. In the second place, the tourism can attract a sheer volume of tourists from many places, contributing to the development of a nation's economy. By way of illustrations, a variety of local businesses, such as hotels, restaurants will benefit from the increasing number of foreign travelers. Also, more job opportunities will be created, which will help to solve the question of unemployment. Hence, many countries now are eagerly disseminating their own unique attractions. These benefits, on the contrary, truly pale into insignificance when compared to the conundrums of this change. To begin with, as more and more people turn to travelling with reasonable prices, environmental problems triggered by transportation are inevitable. As a matter of fact, there has been significant degradation in air quality when an accelerating number of people opt for air travel. Furthermore, since most places of interest are constructed in the past and their quality could not meet today's standards, exploitation of these sites may result in damage or even destruction. This will heavily affect its nation's culture and history. Following by this, chances are that local living conditions and lifestyle are disturbed and the environment are degraded due to the fact that floods of travelers pour into the once serene places and bring in rubbish and noise. All in all, albeit some obvious advantages of this trend, I would believe that these are outweighed by the disadvantages.