Differences between countries are becoming less evident recently. People can see the same films, brands, fashion, advertisements and TV channels.

While there are some benefits of people from different countries sharing a similar lifestyle today, I believe there are more drawbacks than benefits. The primary advantage of people from different countries to share similar entertainment programs is the cultural barrier is reducing. For example, young people with different nationalities could easily communicate with each other on a variety of topics without any barriers, if they have common interests such as watching the same TV shows, movies and fashion magazines. Additionally, having access from anywhere in the world to global brands potentially offers customers to have more buying options. For example, Canadians could purchase the coffee from native coffee shop Tim Hortons and global brand Starbucks, and determine which brand is preferable. There is a risk of losing cultural identity when people from different countries follow the same trend in the sense of fashion, brands, advertisements and TV shows. While knowing different cultures maybe helpful to extend people’s views, people may lose their own cultural identity if they are living under the other cultural background everyday in their life such as watching the foreign movies, reading foreign books, and learning foreign models’ dressing styles. People tend to learn what they see on television shows and imitate the way of talking or even living style from the TV shows, however the ethics behind these global TV shows may contradict the national religion. It is possible that young people learned the words or behaviors from the global entertainment programs that are unacceptable in their religion. In conclusion, I would argue that the disadvantages of people from different countries sharing the same lifestyle do outweigh the advantages.