More and more people read news from the Internet, but newspapers will continue to be used by the majority of people.

Although there is an increasing number of people reading news online, some people opine that the vast majority of citizens will read newspapers. I fairly disagree with this view for the following reasons. To begin with, it is extremely convenient to read news online. With the unprecedented innovation in technologies and smart systems, most people in society regardless of their age, are equipped with a phone, computer and even a tablet, they could easily access to the newest information whenever they feel like. For example, a person could read news on his phone on a crowded bus, while waiting for the food to be served in a restaurant etc. Compared with reading newspapers, reading on electronic gadgets seems easier and handier. Furthermore, reading online is friendly to the environment. Imagine, there are billions of people throughout the world, if the majority of them opt to read news on the paper, how many forests will be eliminated in order to manufacture adequate newspapers for these people? We know that forests are not only homes for thousands of animal and vegetation species, but also help us to prevent soil erosion and convert co2 to o2. If they are cut in large scale, the eco-system on the earth will be damaged. Therefore, from the environmental perspective, reading online is protecting the environment. On the flip side, some people, especially the old citizens, are used to read the newspaper, which has become part of their daily routine. For these people, reading newspapers and having a cup of coffee is their way of starting a day, if it is changed, it may be a bit hard for them to accept and get accustomed to; also, some of these people might loathe digital products, they are bad at them and refuse to learn. In addition, reading on the screen could result in eye strain for a small number of people, this discomfort will jeopardize their interest in reading news online. To reiterate, I do not deny that reading on electronic equipment for news could be of some trouble and discomfort for a small group of people, however they are extremely minor in comparison with the convenience and boon, this development brings to us. Consequently, I believe more people will read online, rather than reading the newspaper.