Many people argue that due to widespread internet accessibility, libraries are not necessary anymore.

Libraries have been an imperative part of the educational system in all nations and cultures for ages. However, with the introduction of the internet in the 1990s, these immense sources of knowledge have lost their value. This essay will debate in the support of this statement. First of all, the ease of accessing literature and books have outdated the traditional library culture. Since the internet has facilitated us to reach all sorts of study material through online websites, people no longer feel necessary to manage time to visit the libraries nearby to read the topics of their interests. As a result, libraries are getting abandoned day by day. Moreover, smart gadgets and electronic book readers are much more convenient options than carrying heavy paper books. For instance, a small handheld tablet can be used to download millions of books from online webpages within minutes and individuals do not have to carry bulky books with them everywhere. Therefore, this flexibility encourages people to use the internet, rather than borrowing books from libraries and carrying them around everywhere. Furthermore, finding literature on the topics of one's interest on the internet is easier compared to searching for it in libraries. For example, if a person is interested in ancient history and wants to read about it, thousands of web pages and online material would be available with a single search on online search engines. Due to the time-saving nature of this modern piece of technology, fewer and fewer people are interested in visiting libraries nowadays. In conclusion, a number of people are of the opinion that the internet has outdated the traditional library culture. I personally agree with this point of view and this essay had provided reasons for it.