Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

At present, the majority of people who tend to work late is becoming increase. In response to this statement, the essay will provide the main reason behinds the phenomenon, and also the principal issue impacts on people. To commence with, people tend to work extra hours to receive high income which enables run their family’s demand. For instance, parents would like to provide sufficient education preparation for their children's future. They tend to send their children to elite schools such as international schools which costs a huge amount of money. Besides, they always pay many bills for daily basis purposes, such as food, clothes, accommodation, water, and electric fees. Consequently, people need to work longer to gain enough money for their demands. On the other hand, working hard during the long term without relaxation could lead to adverse physical and mental health problems. Due to workload, they do not have time to do physical activities as well as they face stress frequently, and it could harm their health such as anxiety and exhaustion. Moreover, extensive research conducted by Harvard University in 2018 on 250 computer programmers at 40 years old, who are usually forced to work over 55 hours per week, even night time and weekends, indicated that 72% of those candidates had high risks of high blood pressure and cardiovascular problems if they still continued working overtime. Therefore, people should spend time relaxing besides long working hours to take care of their health. In conclusion, this essay has elaborated on both the fundamental cause and main problem concerning the longer working time in modern society: on the one hand, people work in longer hours to gain more money to afford their life; on the other hand, they could have serious health problems if they work hard without relaxation in long term.