Some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family what are the advantages and disadvantages of a family Run business

It is asserted by certain section of society that running a business within the family is the optimum method. I opine that a family run business is advantagenous but its disadvantages cannot be overlooked. To commence with, there are numerous factors to go for a business within the family. Primarily, there is no chaos in a family business because of better understanding among family members. Hence, rather wasting time to settle disputes a business unit can focus on productive activities. Moreover, a business within family helps in maintaining secrets as no outsider is involved. Thus, a privacy in all decisions is maintained which gives better result in future. However, there is no entry of fresh blood in a family run business because it is retained for family members only. Therefore, a barrier is being created in the path of innovations. Furthermore, the capital investment, in a business run by family members is always limited to the family's assets since there is no other member in the business. Hence, a hurdle is created in the growth and expansion of the business. To epitomize, according to the research conducted by Economic Times, there is always about 5% loss in Gross Domestic Product GDP of India due to joint family businessesIn conclusion, although a family run business restricts innovative ideas and additional investments, I reckon that the secrecy and the mutual understanding among members can help a business to groom.