many people are working longer hours. What are the causes and effects.

In this modern era, working longer hours is a topic of public interest and concern. There are a lot of reasons for this situation, and it can cause some negative effects. The main reason is that the requirement of living is higher than in the past, so the employees not only work for longer hours to pay for high living standards, but they also work harder because of the competitiveness. It cannot be denied that technology is developing to satisfy people and make life is more convenient, and most of them have high prices combined with the cost of living being higher than in the past. As a result, people have to work longer hours to earn money to afford them. Moreover, because of the high unemployment rate in recent years, people have to compete to find a job. Working overtime is a way to display their enthusiasm and leave a good impression on the employers. Therefore, the employees work longer to express themselves to have job and promotion opportunities. The most serious problem is that neither health nor relationship can be affected by working overtime for a long duration. Obviously, the worker who works long hours can have a lot of chronic diseases due to the lack of sleep and lack of exercise such as obesity or diabetes, and sleeplessness can make them feel tired, they cannot focus on the job lead to the efficiency can reduce. When workers work too hard, they do not have much time to relax leads to stress, and if it exists for a long time, people tend to have a problem in inner or commit suicide. Furthermore, because employees spend a lot of time working, they can ignore the relationship outside, such as family, friends, and romantic partners, they no longer have time to build new relationships and maintain the existing ones make them feel lonely after that. In conclusion, competitiveness and high living standard are the main reasons for working longer hours, and they cause many health problems and negative effects on relationships.