Many people are working longer and longer hours. What are the reasons and effects?

In the current society, it is believed that many people spend numerous hours working. There are substantial reasons for this situation, which effects on quality of life are dangerous. In this essay, I will examine the reasons for this condition and later provide some related problems. Working longer hours can be explained by a combination of reasons. First and foremost, an increasingly globalized marketplace and the prices for almost all products in the market increase noticeably, which may become the reason why employers have to work longer hours to control their life. To illustrate, once housing costs rise more and more, workers have to undertake a high volume of work. This may be more serious on those who are a bread-winner. Another compelling reason is that some companies require their employers to work extra hours. An example, a new employer who is inexperienced has to take on a heavy workload. As a result, workers have to work extra hours to compensate, which can be seen more clearly in IT-related sectors. This situation can cause some serious problems. One dangerous problem is that as workers have to work for a long time on the computer, they can not have enough personal relaxation; moreover, it can cause stress and some eye-related problems. To illustrate, an IT employer has to work all-time on the computer. After a long time, his eye can have myopia or spinal injuries because he has to work sitting in his office for up to 8 hours. Another concerning problem is that workers have to spend long hours in the office, they will not have enough time for their loved ones such as lovers, family or parents. This can lead to weak bonds between family members. In addition, once longer hours are spent on work, parents can not ensure that they will teach their child in a complete way. According to a survey, having a lot of time side by side with their parents can develop children’s brains noticeably, they can grow up more intelligent than ones who do not have enough time to play and study with their parents.