Many people are watching films and tv programs about crimes and criminals. What are reasons? What are effects to the society?

It is true that many people are watching films and tv programs about crimes and criminals. Thrill and excitement are the main reasons why this is the case, and because of this, this trend can lead to negative effects on the society. One of the most important reasons why this trend is happening is that thrill and excitement cause people to watch these kinds of entertainment because they would not usually obtain these feelings in their real life. For example, according to the latest survey conducted by Bangkok University, it revealed that 80% of audiences who watch crime television series agreed that they feel thrilled and excited whenever they watch movies about crimes such as “Money Heist”, “Criminal Mind” and “James Bond” which are popular among Thai audiences. Having said that watching this genre of movies plays a major role in gaining the feelings of thrill and excitement. Due to the reasons discussed earlier, this essay thinks that this situation can affect the society as follows. On a societal level, this trend could lead to the increase in crime rates because some people could imitate aggressive behaviour, bloodbath and violent characters from these kinds of movies and tv shows. To illustrate this, in recent news, it has been reported that most adolescents who watch films and tv programs related to crimes and criminals in Bangkok, Thailand tend to commit crimes such as the? , pickpocketing, robbery, burglary, vandalism, smuggling and murder because these teenagers are usually vulnerable and impulsive. As a result, it is possible that criminal films are most likely to increase in crime rates in the society which can be considered a negative consequence. In conclusion, films and television programs concerning/regarding/about/related to crimes and crimes are seen to be popular because they offer thrill and excitement; however, it can be seen as a negative impact on the society as this could trigger the crime rates.