Many people are spending an increasing amount of time on devices such as tablets and smartphones. Is it a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, having a tablet and a mobile phone is a necessity, and anyone across the world has their own device. More and more people spend their time in front of their electronic gadgets. I am of the view that this development in many people is largely a negative one. In most cases, young people lack socialization. They prefer playing on computers instead of having fun outside the house with their neighbors. Young ones become more independent by connecting with people through smartphones, but they experience difficulty interacting and expressing their ideas with others personally. For example, because of this pandemic, virtual classes are widely used, and this makes it easier to say that someone understands the lesson quickly. However, research done after 2 years of the outbreak says that most students who say that they understand the lesson virtually do not really comprehend the lecture in face-to-face classes Apart from this, younger generations tend to be easily influenced by the different types of information they access online through their devices. Some data is not validated, yet they believe it effortlessly without investigating. For instance, on different social platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram, someone can disseminate data that is not true. Therefore, readers may think it is accurate, which may result in a false accusation. Worst of all, spending too much time on mobile phones may cause different health problems. One major problem is obesity. More and more people are gaining weight because of less physical activity and a sedentary lifestyle. This may result in more complicated health issues such as heart problems, hypertension, hyperlipidemia, and many more. In addition, eye strain or eye fatigue is also common because of reading and looking at computer screens for long periods of time, and people are getting exposed to radiation. According to WHO, there is a continuous increase in the number of adolescents diagnosed with hypertension and heart problems. In conclusion, while everyone is enjoying the benefits of having tablets, computers, and smartphones, I still do not think that this is a positive development. There are still lots of drawbacks, and the disadvantages outweigh the benefits it brings.