Many people all over the world have to spend a long time at work each day, especially in some countries. In this essay, I’ll discuss the main reasons for this and why it brings negative effects.

Firstly, people spend long hours at work for the reason that they aren’t paid enough. This happened for most people who have manual jobs. In Vietnam, a lot of workers have to work 44 hours a week and still have a low salary. They even have to work more to pay for themselves or their families. Otherwise, it’s so hard to pay any fees. Secondly, people work more for some job satisfaction. They want to be successful and have a reputation. Some work for the expectation of the people around them. For example, a son spends more hours at work because their parents have high expectations of him. Although it’s one result of the modern world, I still perceive that brings more negative effects than the positive one. If one’s get a heavy workload and few hours to rest, he can easily get exhausted or stressed. Moreover, overworking can bring several serious physical and mental health problems such as poor circulation, increased weight, or heart problems. It also destroys many relationships between people like family or friends relationships for the reason that they’re always at work and away from family or friends. Overall, working long hours is a trend in many countries. Even though it may bring many good effects in the economy, it will bring more negative effects to people and society.