People say that the government should not give financial support and take care of old people because it is their responsibility to prepare for retirement and support themselves. with this view?

It is said that the state should not provide money and take care of the old because everyone has to prepare for the stop of working and take care of himself. I disagree with this point view. On the one side, I accept that we have to prepare for retirement and take care of ourselves. Firstly, retirement is one's decision and he or she has to prepare for it before the decision. Everyone has a different choice so when to decide to quit job is also distinctive. My grandparents can be a good example for this. My grandfather declared to leave the workforce at the age of 71, but his spouse did so when she was 6 years younger than him. Secondly, if the decision to retire is announced, the person who makes the decision still has to do something to earn his or her living. When people declare to stop working, their health still enables them to do some jobs to support themselves. A friend of my grandparent is an instance for the view point. He has retired for long, but everyday he still sells some vegetables and fruits and earns some money, so he can manage to survive without any support. Despite all of these, I still believe that state officials should take some actions to help the old. For one thing, the elderly can be vulnerable to fatal diseases, such as heart or pulmonary diseases. This can decrease one's ability to work. My friend's grandparent is suffering from coronary artery disease, and she must rely on governmental support to live. Another reason is that old people are usually poorer than the remaining of the society, so they may not be able to meet their basic requirements, such as food and fresh water. My grandmother was once like that. She had suffered something known as 'absolute poverty', in which she earned only $1. 5 a day. It was so low her income that she could not afford to buy water. And without the financial support from the government, my grandmom would not survive. In conclusion, it is essential that the old prepare to take care of themselves after quitting job, but I believe that the state should not let them alone.