Many parents feel that cell phones are harmful to children, while others do not.

Some people considered that the smartphones are dangerous for the children because its addiction can turn into health-related issues. However, others tend to oppose this idea and believe that the cellphones are good as long as children are using them under elderly supervision. This essay agrees with the latter statement and suggest that parents should use parental control and the child lock apps to monitor their children’s activities. On the one side, those who opine that cell phones are bad for the children’s development, can easily point out to its addiction. That is to say, the vast majority of children who start with, streaming online movies or playing video games, ends up being addicted. As a result, such people spend very less amount of time on completing the homework or doing physical activities, which eventually lead to health-related diseases including low eyesight, obesity and weak immune system. For instance, according to the World Health Organisation, around 90% of children in the whole world are suffering from Obesity. On further investigation, it was estimated that on an average such kids have 5 hours of screen time per day, which is completely unacceptable. On the other hand, smartphones can have various advantages for the children. Firstly, it protects the children by allowing parents to track their exact geographical location, and contact them if necessary. Certainly, this approach of getting actual whereabouts is convenient to rescue the child in case of crises. In addition, mobile phones can offer education to the children because there are numerous mobile apps available on the internet, whose main aim is to educate the kids with image and video tutorials. Finally, In my opinion, mobile phones have both positives and negatives, so in order to make the best out of it, parents should closely monitor their kids actions either through parental control apps or by setting a timer on the devices, so that apps automatically shuts down after the time is over. In this way, people can protect their kids while they are using the technology to entertain themselves. To conclude, cell phones are harmful in the sense that its excessive use can lead to various health issues. Therefore, parents should use strict monitoring tools to protect their kids from the bad effects of the smart phones.