Many parents feel that cell phones are harmful to children, while others do not.

Although a significant number of parents believe that mobile phones harm their offspring, others are against this point of view. In this essay, I will discuss both views, and I will show my support for the latter opinion. On the one hand, those who believe that cell phones are beneficial to their children argue that it made their children safer. This is because these gadgets made their children reachable wherever they can be. As a result, these youngsters can move freely while being contactable by their parents in any case of emergency. For example, research conducted by scientists at Cambridge University in 2019 declared that children who own cell phones are less likely to face emergencies without their families’ presence than their peers by 50%. Had it not been for this communication invention, these children would have been exposed to various dangers on their own. On the other hand, I believe that children’s cell phones can lead to a dysfunctional family. The reason for this is that these phones reduced the time these youngsters spend with their families. Consequently, these families would suffer from weakened bonds among its members despite how loving the parents can be. Conversely, if these children’s access to mobile phones was limited, they would enjoy the love of their parents. For instance, a paper published by pedagogical experts at the Egyptian ministry of education in 2019 revealed that youngsters who less use their cell phones are more expected to experience a delightful loving family experience. In conclusion, while a plethora of parents believe that mobile phones are advantageous to their children in terms of safety, I disagree with this because of the risk of dysfunctional families these gadgets can cause.