Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think that they should be knocked down and replaced with new ones. How important is it to maintain historical buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

It is true that many old buildings which are under preservation by law are the integral role of a nation’s history. There are arguments that these objects should be abolished and space must be allocated to build new ones. Personally, I think it is essential to keep the existence of historical buildings and history must play an important position in the advance of civilization. At least two reasons help explain why the existence of historical buildings is significant for the current society. For the first reason, these are the vivid representations of a nation’s past, which is reflecting the culture through time. In cultural terms, the later generation can feel the underlying ideas of these buildings through the unique architecture and the aim of these objects. A perfect exemplification is that the French-style building in Hanoi which was constructed in the previous centuries is being used officially as the Presidential Palace of Vietnam. Secondly, these historical buildings can bring some educational experiences for the present generation, such as the devastation of wars or natural disasters. Also, each historical object is attached to the period of the old days which means that they are representative of the past evolution, and are irreplaceable by the new ones without historical meaning. For the aforementioned reasons, history should stand consistently in the development of society. Undoubtedly, the history of a nation could evoke pride and pain through the volatile past. This might offer lessons about the national liberation process and thus build up the patriotism of the individual citizens. Additionally, forging a strong bond between the country fellows is the subsequent outcome of absorbing the sophisticated values from national history. A wise path towards constructing the country in a sustainable way is to learn through the social upheaval, and understanding the national history, therefore, is the prerequisite. In conclusion, the importance of maintaining the historical buildings is undeniable by its values about culture and education. And with its inherent characteristics, history should be positioned in a specific role in world development.