Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

It is a fact that some governments are preserving many historical buildings these days. A group of people believe that protecting these old buildings is considered as a waste of money, as they should be demolished and replaced with new buildings. I personally believe that maintaining an old building is essential, since the building has a lot of historical values, and it would be unique to see cities that combined the modern and historical buildings together. It is believed that protecting some historical buildings is important since they have historical values. Many of the buildings had become the witnesses of some special or tragic moments of a particular country, therefore it should be preserved. One of the examples would be the Fatahilah Museum in Central Jakarta, Indonesia. It is an old building that was erected during the Dutch colonial era in the 18th century and formerly used as a prison to punish the rebellion. Now, it is maintained by the Government as a museum to commemorate the people who had sacrificed their life for the independence of Indonesia. Some cities are still protecting their historical buildings, though new high rise buildings are showing up in the surrounding area. The historical buildings are maintained by the state government and they are standing along with the new skyscrapers. Many people believe that the combination of these old and modern buildings have made the city become fascinating and attractive. As a result, they become one of the tourist destination places. Some of the cities that have preserved them would be Beijing, London and Paris, and more than thousands of people have visited these metropolis cities. In conclusion, retaining the historical buildings is definitely an important thing, because they had become eye-witnesses of some important events. And it is a fact that combination of old and modern buildings brings a lot of benefits for the city and the country as well.