Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

People believe that in this world, nothing is constant but change. Hence, in every detail of our lives, even on the simple aspect of infrastructures and housing, we expect change. Nowadays, the increasing number of the population has drastic need to destroy old houses and rebuild new ones that are more suitable for them. Some believe that this change is inevitable and essential, while some argue that historical houses should be preserved to protect history. In this essay, I will enumerate the importance of preserving old houses or buildings and will then give my opinion on the matter. First and foremost, preserving historical infrastructures is thought to be essential because it mirrors our ancestry and culture. Maintaining it will depict how we give importance to our heritage. For instance, the Ifugaos on the Mountain Province still lives in their old Nipa huts and refuses to adapt the modern style of houses. They argue that doing so will be a simple way to prove their love for their own culture. Moreover, maintaining old buildings will preserve the culture's identity. For instance, in some places in Malolos Bulacan, government officials encourage the people to preserve traditional Spanish style houses within the area. They point out that the place is well-known because of these houses and destroying it might become harmful to our culture and would also affect tourism. In summary, there is no doubt that protecting old houses and buildings is indeed important. However, I believe that a little change will not be harmful. We should take into consideration the changes that occur in the environment and somehow learn how to adapt while preserving the trace of our history.