Many old buildings protected by law are part of nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

There is no doubt that almost every country in the world comprises a ministry of national heritage, that predominantly put efforts in protection of old structures inside the country. However, some individuals suggest that these old buildings should be wiped out to allow construction of new structures based on advanced architectures. This essay will discuss the significance of securing some old buildings and explain why future developments should not damage the ancient structures. To begin with, most of the ancient buildings in the world carry a treasure of history among them that house various artifacts which are important to secure. Demolishing these buildings can damage ancient sculptures and art that is considered indispensable to study history. For Example. St Patrick’s Church in the Vatican City is one of the most ancient buildings on the face of earth, in which thousands of old books are testaments are secured in their original position, and destroying a precious site like this will not only remove a piece of history from earth, but will also demotivate present historians and future history learners. Nevertheless, other buildings that carry no such significance in terms of history, but are only old based on their structures can be replaced with new buildings without harming the feelings of historians. However, in this modern epoch of the world, the cities are getting congested and over-populated than their design limits. Most of these cities also posses a plethora of ancient structures and buildings that come in the way towards urbanization. In my sagacious opinion, the government should plan expanding these cities from outskirts and refrain from damaging the ancient buildings that carry pivotal history with them. To illustrate, there are a multitude of tombs and mosques inside the populated cities of Iran, but their government have strict policies for not damaging any of the ancient structure and carry out further expansions of the city from the city borders. This method allows the old buildings to remain as they are meanwhile development and progressions are also not hampered. In conclusion, this essay discussed that most of the ancient buildings are invaluable source of history and their protection and existence is extremely important. In addition, government should take steps to refrain demolishing these structures to build new buildings and plan out ways to expand their metropolitan areas through the city boundaries.