Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

A lot of ancient buildings are guarded by the authorities because they are the integral part of cultural heritage of society. It is often argued that these should be demolished in order to construct modern structures. However, the relics ought to be preserved as monumental reminders of a nation’s history as they help in development of a country. Several factors contribute to the significance of preserving the historical artifacts. To begin with, they are important because of their architecture and historical relevance, conserving them is the symbol that a nation respects its cultural values and is eager to save them as a monument of pride. To exemplify, Minar-e-Pakistan, situated in Lahore holds a special place in the history of Pakistan, as it was built on the site where Lahore Resolution was passed that was the first official call of a separate homeland for the Muslims of Sub-continent. Therefore, it is indeed crucial to restore such structure as a sign of dignity of the state. History ought not to hinder the advancement in any form because these grand structures are beautiful to behold and their timeless elegance supersedes the modern architectures. To illustrate, studies have shown that historical relics are one of the most appealing tourist destinations in the world and can contribute to raise the country’s economy. Hence, to ensure the culture does not go extinct these old buildings can be refurbished and brought back to their former glory by proper maintenance. To conclude, antique constructions do play an important role and should be treasured as part of its cultural heritage because not only are such buildings beautiful but they also have historical significance.