Although the prices of fuels have greatly increased over the last decade or two, it is argued that further increases in fuel prices are the only way to reduce world consumption of fuel and lessen pressure on the world’s fuel resources. with this statement?

Fuel is considered as one of the prominent resources for manufacturing process. While the fuel reserves are limited and may be depleted after some point in time, a lot of people opine that rising the price of the fuel is the apt way to control its consumption and preserve the resources for future. Although I agree with this theory of fuel preservation, I believe there are other options available to various economies for prevention of these valuable resources. Non-renewable resources such as petrol and diesel are very scarce and only supplied by few countries around the world. There has been a spurt is demand for these fuels post World War II, due to increase in industrialisation in many countries. Countries with abundant supply of oil have increased the price to control the demand and preserve the fuel for future generations. This Economic Theory of Pricing has helped to contain the demand to certain extent, however many developed economies having enough capital to buy the fuel, have not reduced the demand. There are many other alternatives that could be followed to prevent the depletion of the resources. Usage of renewable resources in place of non-renewable resources have been adopted by many economies. This increase in usage of the substitutes have led to decline in demand of fuels as well as reduction in the pollution. Moreover, change in technology can also be adopted to decrease in the demand for oils. For instance, many countries have promoted the usage of electric vehicles which will not only help in reduction in the demand of fuels but also prevent the pollution which is caused from release of harmful gases from the vehicles. In conclusion, I agree with the idea that increase in the pricing might help in the reduction in demand of fuels. However, for some countries where pricing might not be an issue, other methods like using of substitutes and change in technology might be adopted to contain the demand.