Many of the countries believe that international tourism has harmful effects. Why do they think so? what can be done to change their views?

Despite the fact that tourism industry has contributed effectively to the economy of many countries worldwide, international tourism is believed to have some negative effects. The purpose of this essay is to discuss on possible reasons and to recommend some manners to change that belief. The development of multinational tourism has been raising people's concerns not only on pollution but also on the disappearance of local traditional culture. Firstly, it is undeniable that tourists are attracted by the beauty of undiscovered places, such as desert islands, villages in tropical jungles, and the development of tourism in those places has caused the negative consequence to its natural environment because of garbage from non-locals' activities. Secondly, the locals in those tourist attractions tend to give up on their traditional customs. Inhabitants are likely to establish new services, which conflict with their traditional customs, to earn their livelihood and to make tourists comfortable, such as massage and karaoke services. This occurrence is contributing to the process of losing the native traditional culture. In order to change the negative views on tourism development, there are plenty of approaches. On the one hand, authorities in these tourist attractions, who are responsible for the sustainable development of the local tourism industry, should be in collaboration with local citizens in making regulations to orient their tourism development. The regulations for tourists including punishment should be stated clearly to reduce the pollution caused by tourists' activities. On the other hand, being aware of traditional culture preservation is the most effective way to attract tourists, not the non-traditional services operated to adapt the visitors' demands. In conclusion, although there are many undeniable negative effects caused by international tourism development, such as environmental pollution and decreasing of native traditional culture, lots of solutions could be implemented by locals and government to change the negative views on effects of tourism.