Many newspapers, magazines and television programs make money by reporting on the private lives of public figures such as politicians, sports personalities and entertainers. While the media’s right to freedom of expression should be defended, the media should not intrude into people’s private affairs. with this statement?

The media’s freedom of expression is an essential safeguard in a free society. However, it is often suggested that there should be limits to the media’s right to report on the private lives of public figures. There are a number of arguments both in favour of and against this view. Firstly, it is argued that politicians should not be the objects of media scrutiny outside their work and that the media should not report information about them, such as details of their relationships, which is generally considered private. However, the counter- argument is that there are some politicians who use privacy laws to cover up embarrassing information, for example, when they have accepted gifts in return for using their influence. In other words, it is sometimes in the public interest for the media to investigate politician’s private lives to reveal and deter such corruption. A further argument is that the media is more interested in making money that in telling the truth. Stories of scandals involvig well-known people increase newspaper circulatiion and attract larger the inconvenieces as well as the benefits this brings. A final argument is that when media reports on famous people’s private relationships, it often puts these relationships under tremendous pressure that they fail. On the other hand, opponents of this argument say that many celebrities promote themselves by publicising their private affairs in the media, and only complain about an invasion of privacy when problem arise. In conclusion, I believe that public figures have to expect some media scrutiny of their private lives. In the case of entertainment or sports celebrities, this reflects a market for stories about them, which is part of being famous and earning large amount of money. In the case of politicians, it is the media’s duty to examine and report on the behaviour of people in positions of power.