Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Although free entry is welcomed by some museum organisations, many prefer to collect entry charges. In my opinion, I think free admission of people in museums bring more economic burden on the authority than the benefits. Despite the minimal drawbacks below, I believe the benefits gained by museum and visitors are far more crucial. Firstly, charged admission amount assist to maintain the various items of the museum. In other words, proper preservation and care is required for many fragile and delicate artifacts of the museum, so high cost of maintenance can be surplused by collected entry fair. Secondly, museum staff could receive fair amount of salary, if the money is collected through entry ticket from visitors. Security staff, expert guides, for instance, are there in the museum for convenience of the visitors, and satisfied staff can cater their service enthusiastically. Lastly, entry charge put less monetarily burden on governments and organisations. As a result, the other important areas like health and education can be well taken care. Admittedly, there are some issues involved if entry charge is received by the museum. One basic problem is minimum number of people may tend to visit the museum as it's entry fees is high. Hence, the main purpose of the museum to educate and provide information to the vast number of people cannot be fulfilled. Another downside is that entry ticket may create discrimination in the society. As it is not possible for everyone to pay high charges of the entry, poor section of the people, inspite of the willingness, could not visit the museum. To conclude, though there are some basic problems of admission ticket in museum, the positive aspects are far more important and unavoidable.