Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advatages of charging people for admission to museums owutweigh the disadvantages? v. 148

These days, the question of whether people have to buy museums’ entrance tickets or not has been receiving a great deal of public attention. While I accept that museum admission fees have both benefits and drawbacks, I would argue that this phenomenon bears more disadvantages than advantages. On the one hand, there are important benefits for museums when visitors are charged. One of the advantages is that museums have more budgets to give a boost to museums’ service quality. This means that in the light of admission revenue earning from entrance tickets, they might escalate significant investment in facilities, redecorate or even approach with cutting-edge technologies to make exhibits more attractive throughout audio and visual effects. Furthermore, most museums are public-funded/ state-funded so the higher the admission revenue is earned, the greater proportion of the state’s definite budget can be poured into other fields such as infrastructure, health care services. If art enthusiasts enter museums without fees, other public facilities like stadiums, zoo, also need to be free, it seems to be impractical. On the other hand, I believe that there are some drawbacks, which outweigh these benefits. The principal reason for this view is that museum, which charges a fee are likely to reduce their public because museum-lovers have a wide range of options to gain knowledge from museums. In fact, in the 21 century, with the industrial revolution and technology age, people can straightforwardly acquire information collections of priceless antiques and artefacts by a wifi-enabled device without a fee of charge. Secondly, if museums charge the amount of money, the contributions of museums for education may decline and it can have a negative influence on vulnerable art-lover such as children, poor. For example, in Ha Giang province, which located in northern Vietnam, it is significantly challenging for local students to go to school, let alone spend money on visiting museums. In conclusion, although charging people for admission has some benefits, I argue that the disadvantages of this free outweigh the advantages.