Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages? v. 147

Museums are educational places which are beneficial for people in the societies. However, these days, people have to pay an entrance fee to enter many museums. Although this phenomenon can lead to negative effects, I believe that there are for more positive effects. It cannot be denied that the price of tickets can bring about the detrimental impacts to people, societies, and the museums themselves. From the people’s perspective, they are discouraged from visiting the museum and not able to access useful information and knowledge freely, particularly the poor because they cannot afford such an amount. From society’s perspective, citizens have fewer opportunities to access vitally significant places to learn history, science, art, and many other essential subjects. From museums’ perspective, they cannot attain one of their objectives to educate people. Moreover, they may have to close down as they lose more of their customers. Despite aforementioned disadvantages, I am convinced that to charge for admission figures brings about a myriad of advantages. Firstly, museums will have money to operate which covers their business overhead such as personnel cost, equipments, electricity and water bills. Secondly, the museums can generate their own revenue to improve the place effectively to attract people, for example, to update their exhibits and keep the place clean and good-looking. Having visited many museums myself, I have learnt that many museums which sell tickets are better than those that do not charge for tickets in terms of places, information, and management. In conclusion, although I recognize that the museums ticket sales can cause drawbacks to stakeholders in societies, I believe that museums should not remain free for all so as to be operated and developed most effectively.