Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages.

In the current times, there are many museums which are charging an entry fee, while there are others in which the access is free. In my opinion, exhibitions, must charge an admission fee as the funds collected can be used in the maintenance and restoration of the museums. However, free entry to museums will pose some serious hazards too. There are many advantages of charging an entry ticket to such places. Firstly, with the money collected from visitors, janitors can be employed who will ensure that the cleanliness of the space is maintained. Secondly, security guards can be deployed to control and monitor the growing number of tourists. Moreover, if it is a historical museum, the admission charge could be used in the restoration of some old artefacts, including old paintings, costumes and weapons. For instance, a science museum would require money for the maintenance of the equipments and the machines, to be able to demonstrate experiments to visitors. On the other hand, asking the tourists to not pay an admission ticket has some obvious disadvantages as well. By doing so, the exhibitions become inaccessible to many. In other words, the lower strata of society who are struggling to make ends meet would be unable to visit such places and educate their children about history or natural science with live examples. Additionally, if no access fee is charged, the visitors will start misusing the place for their intended use and it would be difficult to maintain law and order such situations. In conclusion, museums must pay an entrance charge to ensure correct law and order is maintained. Therefore, the disadvantage of the museums being unaffordable to many can be ignored.