Excess consumption of sugar is increasing health problems. Some people think it government’s responsibility to limit people’s consumption while others think it’s the individual’s responsibility to take care of it. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The rise in lifestyle disorders and other diseases due to increased consumption of sugary foods has been under scrutiny for a while. Although many people feel it is the government’s responsibility to control people’s sugar intake, I believe that it is an individuals’ responsibility to ensure their own well-being. On the one hand, the occurrence of heart diseases and lifestyle conditions like obesity due to increased consumption of sugar is evident in the past few years. Not only have they increased, but they are also affecting the mortality rate of the population. It is the governments’ responsibility to take care of their citizens and set an example to other nations. This can be achieved by encouraging the consumption of healthy food, organizing marathons and regulating the sugar intake at local eateries. For example, it has been observed that the population residing in areas where the government has established rules for reduced sugar intake at eateries are twice as likely to be healthier than other places. Therefore, it is important for individuals to take responsibility for their health. On the other hand, if an individual is not motivated enough to take charge of their well-being, no amount of government rules would suffice. By choosing healthier options like consuming a balanced diet and indulging in routine physical activity, one can easily avoid acquiring heart diseases and reasonably increase their life span. For instance, people who take part in leading a healthy lifestyle have minimal chances of acquiring heart disorders in comparison to the other population. Thus, taking charge of our own health is a much desirable approach towards staying healthy. To conclude, contrary to many people’s opinion of the government taking responsibility for solving their health problems, I believe that it is the individuals’ responsibility to keep their health in check by eating healthy and exercising on a daily basis.