Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

There is myriad of museums which required admission fee for visiting, but that is not the same case for other institutions. As far as I am concerned, the upsides of entrance fee eclipsed by its downsides in the sense that the admission rates may decline. The main benefit of admission fee is that the income can used for daily operation. It is crucial to protect the valued assets inside the museums. For example, the temperature and humidity of the museum may directly affect the collection. It is important to maintain the favourable temperature for art storage as the high temperature can shrink the artworks. In addition, a lot of museums conduct exhibitions at times, and this could not have been done without a sum of money to hire professionals and to buy equipment. The Hong Kong Science Museum, for instance, has monthly exhibitions on different themes and professionals are employed for the introduction and exhibition layout. This example amplifies how the admission fee is beneficial for the museum daily operation. Granted, an entrance fee may have the positive effect on museum operation, but the admission figures may have a negative effect because of such charges. Take parents as example, visiting museum would be one of their most frequent leisure activities as the museum serves an educational role. However, more and more educational parks have sprung up in the past couple of years and even free of charges. For example, the Kowloon walled city park in Hong Kong is preserves a number of historical buildings for visitors to explore the classical Chinese culture. In that case, parents may have additional choices reconsidering the venues for experiencing the historical contexts other than history museum. To sum up, the disadvantage of an entrance fee is overshadowed by the benefits accruing from a stable income. Therefore, having weighted up the pros and cons, I am convinced that museums should charge an admission fee for the sake of daily operation.