Many languages disappear every year. Some people think this is for the best, and it would be easier to communicate if there are fewer languages. with this opinion?

Languages always have an important role in our society because they connect people from different isolated geographical areas together. Languages have been used for thousands of years and maintained by ancestors for each new generation; this is a way of honouring a country’s history and people. In this day and age, it is estimated that seven thousand languages are spoken around the world and ninety percent of them are used by less than one hundred thousand people. For instance, English, Chinese, Japanese and German have a special role in our society due to the popularity of the languages. Due to this reason, many minor languages disappear every year; some people think this is for the best, and would be easier to communicate if there are fewer languages. In my opinion, I disagree with that statement because languages are the intangible cultural heritage of every nation and if we only maintain a few of the popular languages, it means reducing the variety of languages around the world. On the other hand, we should learn more languages because they are also the keys that help us understand more about our world. This essay will focus on why we should maintain the various languages. First of all, language is an intangible cultural heritage and has been used for a long time; it is also the tradition that is repeated for each new generation by each ancestor. For example, most Chinese people living in New Zealand still teach their children how to speak Chinese to communicate with family at home during the same time as learning English at school; it helps children have the foundation of two languages from when they are a child and also maintain their mother languages. Languages are also the pride of nations; it shows the length of a nation's history and the way to respect the previous generations. A long time ago, our ancestors spent their efforts to build the countries; the next generations should have the responsibilities to maintain and develop our culture. Secondly, if we only maintain popular languages, the variety of languages around the world will be reduced. What would happen in the world if only a few languages were used? Each language is a key, which can help us enter new worlds. It has been said the number of languages that we learn is the number of lives that we live. When we learn new languages, that means we understand more about the pieces of the world; we are able to understand the feeling and thinking of people in other countries. When visiting new countries, not only the famous places, but languages and cultures are also attractive to visitors; it makes the visitors feel they stand in a new world that is unique for them. Languages are also the thing that can challenge the engagement of humans; the creative and memory part in our brains are developed due to the different types of alphabets such as the alphabet in Chinese and Japanese which are very much different from English. Therefore, the various languages make the world become more interesting and more creative. On the other hand, I recommend that we should learn more languages instead of fluently learning only one language. This is because under the pressure of social development, languages are always the important skills that people ought to learn. When we learn more languages, we will have more opportunities in our future; that means we can travel to work and live anywhere in the world that we like. We can broaden our horizons due to learning new languages such as knowing about the history and culture of the other countries. I also believe that each of us should learn the basic languages that are used for blind and deaf individuals. Languages do not only help us to understand more about our world, languages also encourage connections between people in our society. Language is a fantastic thing to have in our lives. Undoubtedly, popular languages play an important role in our lives; they help us communicate more easily, and there are more international opportunities if we know a few popular languages. However, only learning popular languages is not the best. In my point of view, it is best if we can maintain our national language while learning the new languages because we can still keep the pride of our nations while entering new worlds. Languages are like a gift that we inherit from our ancestors, so we have the responsibility to respect our mother tongues and develop our countries to honour our nation’s history and people.