Many individuals think that fixed punishment for all major crimes is more effective. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having fixed punishment?

Many individuals think that fixed punishment for all major and minor crimes is more effective. However, it has its own merits and demerits which I am going to explain in this essay. To begin with, crime rates are escalating in an alarming manner. Lack of awareness, education and poverty are the paramount reasons. Therefore, to decrease crime rate many people believe that there should be fixed punishment. It not only simplifies the verdict of judicial court but makes the criminal more aware before committing crimes because of the severity of the punishment one has to face. This deters them from criminal activities. For example, according to Saudi government, the death penalty is sentenced to criminal who commits rape. This de-escalated no of criminals from the society. Although fixed punishment may help to eradicate crime there are many downside of this. Many people believe that this is completely inhumane to our egalitarian society. Penalty should be served to the convict based on nature and severity of crime. It is also important to know about the circumstances under which a crime was committed. Juvenile delinquents should be given chance for redemption so that they can reintegrate back in the society. Fair trial is neccessary before reaching final verdict. For example, when a teeneger commits minor crime like shoplifting he should be given a second chance and warned not to do same in the future instead of giving any sort of fixed punishment. Thus to conclude, although fixed penalty could be a better way to eliminate crime to some extend, however it is not fair as its disadvantages outweigh its advantage.