Do you think that it is right for rich countries to pollute the environment?

The environmental crisis has arisen at an alarming level since the industrial revolution. Land and water have been contaminated and caused harm to living organisms as well as the environment. Acid rain, green house effect, global warming and ozone depletion are common terms that we have heard and will eventually cause the earth to no longer be a safe place to live in. Rich countries such as The United States and Australia are responsible for seven out of every 10 tons of carbon dioxide emitted since the industrial revolution. Other green house gases such as methane and nitrous oxide also contribute to the heat-trapping condition and result in global warming where the average temperature increases. Green house gases are emitted mainly due to human activities such as burning fossil fuels. Consequently, flooding and drought will happen and people around the world will suffer from their acts. Besides, the soil pollution it is also an undesirable outcome when rich countries deprive people of lands for agricultural purpose. Herbicides and pesticides are used to maximize the production to export their products regardless of the impact towards the environment. The chemical substances will leave the soil acidic, the clearing of forest due to agricultural development will also cause animals to lose natural habitats. In addition, some developed countries have transferred their industries to other rural countries to lower their production costs. It causes pollution in that particular country and they have not taken the responsibility to fix the situation. As a result, the rich consume and the poor suffer the pollution. In conclusion, it is not right for rich countries to pollute the environment in order to achieve economic growth. Actions have to be taken to slower down the impacts towards environment and human.