Many hold a belief that the role of family in one’s life is more crucial than that of friends. From my perspective, I totally agree with this point of view and have several pieces of solid evidence to support it.

Many hold a belief that the role of family in one’s life is more crucial than that of friends. From my perspective, I totally agree with this point of view and have several pieces of solid evidence to support it. Firstly, it is noticeable that family members can nurture us since the day we were born but friends cannot. This is because grandparents and parents provide us not only food, shelter, education but also protection and unconditional love which cannot be received from friends. Hence, it may be a mistake to overlook the fact that without our family’s support, we are unlikely to survive alone until we have an independent life. For example, thanks to parents’ support, young students are able to afford tuition fee during their school life from nursery to tertiary education. This example is the illustration of the fact that family is of the most importance in the immature period of individual life. Secondly, another point that should be taken into account is the fact that family possibly gives us more help than friends do when we encounter difficulties in later life. The counter argument raised by the opponents to this is that people from the same age find it easier to understand one another, so they tend to give sound advice. This justification may be reasonable to some extent; however, it should be acknowledged that beside encouragement, the senior in family might help their offspring with other problems such as health issues, or financial crisis. As a result, family is more beneficial than friends even in the latter period of life. In conclusion, it seems to me that family is superior to friends in an individual’s life for the reasons mentioned above.