Many people are using credit cards or loans to run up huge personal debts that they may be unable to repay. It should, therefore, be made more difficult for individuals to borrow large amounts of money.

In today’s modern world, it is certainly true that most people own at least a credit card. Some may even have four to five credit cards which eventually cause them to run up huge personal debt. Some people are of the opinion that government and banking authority should make it harder for individuals to borrow large amounts of money and I strongly agree with it. There are several reasons why it should be less easy for people to borrow money. To begin, a huge personal debt will probably increase their burden. Even though they may be worked harder in order to earn more money to clear off their debt, it is always not a simple task for them. According to the statistic from a well-known bank, it has shown that more that 65% of the people are unable to repay which may be partly due to the high-interest rate they have to deal with. As a result, many of them, especially those aged below 30, may choose to end their previous lives by suicidal which we are constantly confronted with newspaper or many of them commit the crime to gain some money. Apart from that, the individuals are too materialistic nowadays. They borrow the money from the bank and use it to buy things to satisfy themselves. They think that the more things they own, the happier they are. Therefore, the government should make the procedures to borrow money much more complex in order to avoid the people to get into debt. It is believed that the attitude of people being too materialistic will change as long as there are crucial and effective measures that can be taken. Eventually, the problem of running into huge debt can be prevented. In conclusion, there are numerous people who get into large debts due to overuse of credit cards or loans which most of them have not the ability to repay. However, if the government can tighten the rules in the procedure to borrow money from the bank, this problem can soon be coped. I believe our country will continue to prosper and flourish if this problem can be solved in the years to come.