Many governments around the world are encouraging their citizens to use bicycles for travelling in the city. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

People around the world are being encouraged to use bicycles by their governments for travelling in the city. The benefits of this are less pollution and decreased traffic congestion, and the drawbacks are aged people will suffer and is also not ideal for all climatic conditions. The prominent advantage of people using bicycles in the metropolitan for commute is drop in pollution levels. This is to say that, when individuals replace motor vehicles with bicycles, carbon emissions from automobiles will take a huge dip, so air pollution caused by Co2 will drop significantly. Additionally, traffic issue will also decrease when more cycles are used instead of cars. Cars with only passenger usually occupy more space on road than cycles on the roads creating blockages on traffic network during peak hours and can be addressed if people start to use more bicycles. For example, Government of Delhi in 2010, passed a legislation on using bicycles for travelling within 2kms radius for any purpose to decrease its pollution levels and the latest pollutions readings have shown the positive impact of the law. The main disadvantage of using bicycle is it is hard for aged people. Elderly people who are above 45 are not physically healthy to ride cycles as they suffer from joint and knee issues due to ageing, so it will be very challenging for them to follow this. Furthermore, riding on bicycle is not ideal for different types of climate. It is very lucid that bicycles do not have any protection like vehicles does for individuals to protect themselves from heavy wind and even from a heavy drizzle. Hence, using cycles for commuting is not suitable due to weather conditions. For example, Melbourne is known for its typical weather of having all 4 seasons in a day and will be very challenging for people to ride on bicycle in few months very the climate is very critical. In conclusion, drop in pollution level and decreased traffic congestion are main benefits whereas aged people not being physically fit and different climate conditions are the drawbacks of using cycles.